Meet Annie!

Posted on

Hello, my name is Annie Snow. My real name is Leeann by birth, but most people call me Annie. Either way is okay with me. I have never blogged before so it’s all new to me, I always wanted to learn but didn’t know where to start. Sometimes it’s hard to come up with something to write about. I was given the opportunity to blog for ASDNext so I can get some experience.

Anyway, let me tell you about me and the kind of person that I am. I am a 30-year-old woman with autism. I live in Harrisburg with my parents and two siblings. I don’t work nor do I drive. Also, I don’t go to school. I tried the college experience but it didn’t work out very well. It was a bit challenging for me. I am, however, a hard worker at home when it comes to house chores. I am very helpful when it comes to helping my parents out around the house. Also, I am a kind person with a sweet and gentle heart. I can make people laugh sometimes just by quoting a line from a TV show or movie that’s funny.

Every month on the fourth Wednesday, I attend this group called Spectrum Friends of Greater Harrisburg. It’s a hybrid meeting that is held both in-person and virtual. It’s at the community center room on the 2nd floor of the Camp Hill Giant. I go there virtually because it’s easiest for me and I feel more comfortable attending from home. At these meetings, we talk about various subjects and sometimes we will even have guest speakers present there. Every month we take a vote on where we are going when it comes to our group trips. I love going on our monthly trips because I get to see new places and meet new people. It gets me out of my comfort zone. I found this group and wanted to join so I can make friends. I never really had any friends, but I was accepted into the group with a warm welcome. It feels good to have a group of friends that accepts you.

In my free time, I like doing my hobbies. I love doing crafts, especially making jewelry. I have been making jewelry for about 11 years and would love to move on to other crafts. I wouldn’t mind taking up painting because it seems therapeutic or learning any craft in general. One day I would love to make video tutorials on how to make jewelry. It’s my dream and always will be.

I am learning to cook with my parents. Some recipes I learned from my father and some I learned from my mother. I am learning to make side dishes and some meals. There are a lot of recipes I would love to learn and try cooking. I have gained such a deep love for cooking since I started learning late last year. I have even baked a few things such as cookies and cornbread. Everyone in the house loves when I make the best cornbread. It’s a crowd pleaser! This past Easter, I got to learn how to make cake pops.

Also, I love doing my errands like going shopping at Costco every month and going to Hershey to get an iced coffee. I love going through Hershey and driving past the park because it’s one of those things that make me the happiest, especially when I am feeling down. Out of all the things that make me happy, is when I am sitting on the couch with my dog next to me and my cat near me watching TV with the family.

To conclude this blog, I would like to say thank you for letting me give an introduction about myself and hopefully I get to gain a new skill with this. I hope you enjoyed reading this and have a very pleasant day!

Annie Snow

Annie is 30 years and old and eager to gain blogging experience. She’s also an aspiring artist learning to make jewelry and other crafts with the hopes of one day sharing her creations with the world online. Annie’s a hard worker and is always there for her family, whether it’s helping out around the house or just curling up on the couch with them and their pets for some relaxation and bonding. You can always count on her to quote movie lines just to make you laugh or to learn new recipes to share delicious food and baked goods with you.

View all posts